Acquired Taste

Sweet, salty, bitter, and sometimes delicious.

Homemade Breakfast Biscuits for Two

Posted by unbeelievable on August 26, 2008

When I was a little kid, my family and I traveled around Texas almost every weekend. The trips weren’t very fun for me, but there was always one highlight — McDonald’s breakfast biscuits (my favorite was bacon, egg, and cheese). Some of the Dairy Queens around Texas (Dairy Queen is sort of like McDonald’s and used to be in every small Texas town) one-upped McDonald’s by making fresh (vs. powdered) eggs and using real cheese. Those were always a prime find.

When I think of happy memories of my childhood, getting breakfast biscuits is right up there, for some reason. With buttermilk, quick scrambled eggs, ham or bacon, and real cheddar cheese, these homemade breakfast biscuits are killer. I make them for my sweetie at least once a week (lucky guy, right?) They also aren’t too hard to make once you get the hang of them. You’ll never look at a McDonald’s biscuit the same way again!

You need a pastry blender to make these easily. You can buy them at any kitchen store. I recommend spending more to get sturdier wires, as the cheap ones tend to break after awhile.

Ingredients (serves 2)

Biscuits–

  • 1 cup all purpose flour (some recommend mixing cake and all purpose flour; this is too much trouble for me. Others have recommended using White Lily flour, which makes the biscuits very tender, but at 6 bucks a bag, I’ll stick with my regular flour, thanks
  • 1/2 Tb baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 Tb butter
  • 1 Tb lard (substitute more butter if you don’t like lard)
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk, preferably full fat

Eggs —

  • 2 eggs
  • olive oil or butter

Toppings —

  • 2 slices of bacon, cooked and halved OR a few thin slices of serrano or country ham OR prosciutto
  • 1/4 cup grated cheese (I usually use cheddar)


Directions

  1. If making in conventional oven, pre-heat to 425. I have a tiny kitchen and, although we have an oven, we tend to use our toaster-oven sized convection oven whenever possible. If using convection, heat to 400.
  2. Put flour, baking powder, and salt in medium bowl, mix with pastry blender
  3. Add COLD butter and lard (if using). You may wish to cut it into small chunks before adding to the bowl
  4. Use pastry blender to cut the butter and lard into the flour mixture. (see below) You can also use two knives, although it will take a lot longer. I tend to press down and turn the pastry blender and turn the bowl 1/4 turn every time. Cut the butter/lard in until the mixture looks like coarse crumbs.
  5. Add buttermilk and stir. Knead mixture into a ball with your hands
  6. Pat dough out into small biscuit shapes (see below). You can make 2 giant biscuits, 4 medium biscuits, or, if you’re like me, can make 2 large biscuits and one medium biscuit (I eat the medium biscuit, as these things aren’t exactly health food).
  7. Cook for approximately 17 minutes in conventional oven, 11 minutes in convection oven; until the biscuits are slightly golden on top (see below)
  8. While the biscuits are cooking, make the scrambled eggs. I use a non-stick pan and 2 large eggs. I think the secret to not overcooking the eggs is to cook them until they are still shiny and “wet” looking (see below)
  9. If using bacon, cook bacon; if using ham, cut or slice ham
  10. Grate cheese
  11. Cut biscuits in half with a sharp knife. If the biscuit top falls apart slightly, that’s okay, as the cheese will help the completed biscuit stick together.
  12. Layer ham/bacon, egg, and top with cheese (see below)
  13. If serving immediately, you may want to broil for a couple of minutes to melt the cheese. In our family, this is portable food to take to work, so I wrap the biscuit in foil and put it back in the still-warm oven until it is ready to be transported.

Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Homemade Breakfast Biscuits for Two”

  1. Oh my goodness, those look so yummy!

  2. Kemi said

    My mouth is watering all over my keyboard.

    Thanks a lot. 😀

  3. Jan said

    My biscuits do not brown in our Sharp Carousel convection oven. They come out light, fluffy and yummy, but not brown. I bake at 450 for 14 min. Any suggestions????

Leave a Reply

 
